Quality – the chase for better quality

Uncategorized

Skills are never taught, they are acquired. I can give you a camera, but can’t feed your vision. — Raghu Rai


Lately I’ve been hard pressed for creativity. No inspiration, No drive! The rest of World looks like it’s getting better from the Covid 19 Plague. Last week we got the booster and last night we had gone to help celebrate Beaujolais Nouveau. The first wine that comes from the latest harvest at our Local Favorite French Restaurant.

Now usually when I need inspiration I turn to music. Trying to get the best sound I can with the limitations of what I can afford. I wouldn’t call my setup HiFi or Audiophile quality. So to improve the sound from the source I’ve been researching a better alternative to the usual casual listener standard. I have no argument with Pandora or it’s quality. Nor Streaming in general. But let’s face it. The average person is satisfied with the 2 channel stream.

So I ran across a site on the Net that has a Lossless High Quality download with plenty of titles. The HQ Flac is comparable to shooting in Raw for us. Like us in Photography we need to download the Music and then use an app to uncompress this 24 bit or higher quality. Then either burn it to disk or Flash Drive to make it playable on our systems. So it’s not a regular Streaming Service like Pandora or Spotify. I’ve heard that Spotify has a better quality Stream but of course it’s for more money.

HD Tracks is the name and you can find it here to look around.

HD Tracks

Just keep in mind it’s Not a Streaming Service. Also this is where I found out about Flac.

Then I heard about a higher quality Streaming Service called Tidal Tidal

Also keep in mind listening to this means we need a slightly higher level of equipment. There is a portable DAC called Firefly where it plugs into your Phone, IPod, IPad and our Headphones plugs into this to get the true feel of the better Quality Music.

Now for the rest of us who have a better sound system or Home Theater System. We can go over to the YouTube App on our Smart TVs. Set your sound system to 2 Channels and search YouTube for Flac or HQ Flac with your favorite Artist after. Doesn’t matter which genre you prefer. The biggest catalogues are for Jazz and Classical. A lot of others are also available. You like Rock or Heavy Metal? It’s there. I’ll link to YouTube for John Barleycorn by Traffic. Yes the full album in HQ

Traffic – John Barleycorn

In the old days I always had music playing in my Darkroom when working.

See just typing about music made me look at my old images of Venice. Here’s a link to Music from Venice. Hope this inspires you. https://youtu.be/mGDEUlJzznw

Have a great weekend.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.