The Right Tool for the Right Job

Art, Education, Inspiration, interiors, Ireland, Travel

Friday August 6, 2021

When I photograph, I always look for people who are absorbed in something. — Susie Fitzhugh

The Right Equipment for the Right Job!


We are always seeing those who are determined to find out how an image was created. Several Groups have Rules that tell us we need to share the shooting information with every post. What Gear did you use?

Why? Why is it important for every image to have listed what Shutter Speed, Aperture and ISO? Why is it that everyone know what Brand Camera was used in that particular image?

While walking around a Museum do you hear anyone asking “What Paintbrush did he use”? Or “Where did Vermeer get his Canvas from”? Ha, “What Paintbrush did Rembrandt use to create that”? What Brush did Vermeer Use to Paint “Girl With Pearl Earring”?

Early Photography Magazine’s in the 1960’s started this. I don’t want to say Trend! But it since has become a way of life in the Photography Community. An article was published showing a wonderful landscape. Letters started coming in asking how the artist shot that scene. What lens did you use? What camera body? What Film?

So the Editors quickly picked up the idea that having those questions answered might intrigue the Equipment Manufacturers to spending more money in that Magazine. So now they had an over abundance of Ads coming into the Magazine where everyone was pushing there favorite piece of equipment.

After a while these Magazines became very Popular with wonderful articles of shooting under difficult situations. Listing what and how the Photographer shot that scene. The Manufacturer’s Advertising Agency’s went absolutely crazy trying to fill up the Magazines with Ads.

After a few years there were less room for articles since the Mags were so full of just Advertising!

You don’t believe me? Try going to your Local Library and browse the Magazine sections. Look for any of the Photography Mags to see how much advertising space there is compared to actual informative articles?

So what did I first say all the way back to the top? OK I had to actually peak… Haha

The Right Equipment for the Right Job! Once we get to a certain level of understanding and education. It becomes obvious that “Most” Cameras can do the same thing. Oh then the Megapixel Wars comes to mind. Also driven again by the advertising department’s.

You’re trying to capture a fast moving child or pet? How about a Wild Animal moving along and your getting frustrated because everything you try using your Phones Camera isn’t getting the results you want?

Maybe it’s just me and I’m Not using the camera correctly on my Phone. Well guess what? That person now doesn’t have any usable images to show.

Don’t get me wrong! A cellphone camera can take great images. Keep in mind that there are certain situations that a Cellphone Camera will be limited in its capacity to handle situations. I’m also talking about the Single Shot aspect. Or even the very dark situation a Sensor might have problems with.

A Memory Popped up on my Facebook page the other day. One of my images was featured in “Shutterbug Magazine” over 8 years ago.

While we were walking around a wonderful Museum Park in Northern Ireland called “Ulster American Folk Park” my wife and I strolled into the Blacksmith Shop.

It was dark! To the point of having your eyes needing time to adjust to the darkness. The Smith was at his hearth kicking up a fire. So I leaned back and it was way too dark to even try to focus using the auto focusing feature of my camera.

Needing more light a slow shutter speed and wide aperture will be needed. (Can your Cellphone do that?) Next I’m thinking a wide shot to get the complete surroundings inside.

All of a sudden the smoke from the hearth plummeted up and it was too difficult to see. So, I took the shot!! Understand that in the darkness I never noticed the tool rack on the far wall on our left! I braced myself and tried to steady my camera.

The cameras sensor captured more details in the darkness than our own eyes were able to see!

If I didn’t have have my real camera with me I never would have gotten this shot! My P&S can’t go wider that f:/5.6…. Would the Sensor in my P&S work in this extreme low light? Probably Not! Couldn’t focus in the extreme darkness. All I saw was the light on top sneaking in from the roof and the smoke was filling up the room. We were barely able to make out the Smith. This is what a long exposure can do for us.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Mark

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.