First Snow

Uncategorized

All the arts are based on the presence of man, only photography derives an advantage from his absence. Photography affects us like a phenomenon in nature, like a flower or a snowflake whose vegetable or earthly origins are an inseparable part of their beauty. —Andre Bazin


Friday January 7th, 2022

It started snowing last night at about 1:00 am and while taking a peak outside I decided to grab a shot to send to my brother. He lives in the South with his family and always asks me to send him something to remind him how beautiful snow can be. So using my cell so I could text it to him I stuck my head out.

This morning after I woke up I realized that it was early enough to possibly catch something interesting. So turning off the pot for coffee I ran out grabbing my coat and IPad. Yeah I still don’t have a Laptop and Photoshop that wasn’t going to happen.

Running out I was surprised that my timing was good. Only one pass of the plow and it’s been snowing all night.

It’s 6:56 am here now and it’s first light. Coffee in hand sitting while trying to figure what to write. Shot this about 20 minutes ago.

No wind and a light snow fall, first of the season really. Snow sticking to the branches of trees. Clouds muffling the sounds makes it very peaceful and quiet. While walking around I now hear someone pushing a shovel. Even in the city a light snow is still a thing of beauty.

Looking to my right I was drawn to take a walk in the silence. Funny how the urges of nature still call me. Nah not while holding my IPad. A normal camera is one thing. This IPad is smooth and can slip out of my hands. Yeah right loosing it the snow is Not going to happen…

My footprints in the fresh snow.

It doesn’t feel cold really. Just slightly messy and I want to keep my IPad dry….

Hmmm 7:12 am and I’m listening to the plows starting there run down the block. Ha, it’s too early and I’m thinking of putting on my smart TV and going to YouTube so I can listen to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. OK so the neighbors won’t appreciate music appreciation at Sunrise! Headphones your thinking right? Yeah I could but I’ve never really been a fan. My ears are bothering me after a while like talking on the cell too long pressing against an ear.

Oh this is cool. A video of a concert playing Vivaldi Winter on YouTube. I’m going to try to share it. I don’t own or have nothing to do with the video. I’m just sharing for the love of the arts and the classics. Make the volume loud so you can appreciate the beauty of these talented musicians.

https://youtu.be/ZPdk5GaIDjo

We become friends with people on Social media and while I was an administrator for a Photography Group on Facebook. A few of us who kept an eye on things became friends. We would group PM for ideas to create interest. One evening we had several people on group chat and joking around trying to spur each other’s creativity. We always had a good time. The next morning we noticed a post. It was from someone’s daughter saying one of the lady’s had passed away. We were just speaking the night before. Even though I had never met her face to face I had the privilege of hearing her sense of humor. She was intelligent and highly creative. A talented Photographer!

It’s been 4 years since this happened and the Photography Group was never the same. She was such a driving force that anyone who spoke to her instantly called her a true friend. She truly brought out the best in people. Encouraging and complimentary to make you feel good about your ideas.

In Honor of love for Butterflies. This is for you Debs. Miss you…

It’s funny how someone affects you.

Have a Great Weekend everyone!

Mark

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.