Travel

Art, BW, Digital Photography, Education, Florence, Inspiration, Italy, Landscapes, Location, Rant, Travel, Venice

Friday Night Photography Quote:

HARRY CALLAHAN
[1912 – 1999] An American photographer, who is considered one of the great innovators of modern American photography.

I wish more people felt that photography was an adventure the same as life itself and felt that their individual feelings were worth expressing. To me, that makes photography more exciting.
— Harry Callahan


I’ve been seeing a lot of posts lately about travel!
Some of the best writing conveys a sense of excitement and wonder about those far away places. Whether your any kind of a photographer or not. We should always come away with some added knowledge about our travels. Or at least I would hope so?
Putting it in perspective I would say asking me after I return home from a trip to a foreign country. How did you like your adventure? My normal answer is that was the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen………..

After a few years and many countries later I look back and my mind starts to wonder. Which city was thee most iconic inspiration on my own state of being?
Which city left a lasting impression on me and makes me “Want to Return”?
With no Offense to any of those magnificent places. I don’t want to offend anyone…..
I want to go back to several of these cities to continue to explore. I say two no more are actually calling to me… Calling to me to come back!!
If you’re a long time reader you already know that my wife and I have returned to Paris on several occasions. Yeah, I guess that is also one of the few places that no matter how many times you go. It Is Never Enough!

Italy also comes to mind. All the wonderful historic old cities. Thee most beautiful places in the world like the Amalfi Coast and Cinque Terre. I just searched on the net and found this:

Amalfi Coast – Campania – Declared one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites for its undisputed beauty and the uniqueness of its natural landscape.

Cinque Terre which includes 5 villages that are inaccessible to cars.

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/italy/cinque-terre

Only way to describe those two places is “Simply Breathtaking”!!

For me and my travels there is something about Florence, Italy that just got under my skin. You know that feeling that you get when you go to a brand New Place and you feel like Home? Venice was I wanna say just about the same as well.
Venice and Florence to me are places I can see myself living in………..

I just went into my archives to re-edit the image from Cinque Terre. Pretty funny that today July 24th was the day we were there 5 years… Strange! See the Travel Adventure Bug still bites….

Vernazza Cinque Terre

Florence, Italy has a completely different flavor. There is something about the light!
Most of the Old Masters or Art that have paintings in Museums all over the world. Did work in Florence. The angle of the Sun with the color of the light is something to behold! The only way I can express it to you is extraordinary!

Sunrise in Florence Italy
Sunrise over the Arno River
Florence Italy

After speaking about those above. It’s Venice that truly captures your soul.
Walking through the small winding streets. Very easy to get lost and turned around.
But that’s the fun part of it. Getting lost and discovering new shops and restaurants. Different streets and possible shortcuts. It is truly a wonder.

The people are friendly. The Architecture is simply fabulous. I’m going to share a few from Venice to try and give you the mood of walking around…

Grand Canal – Blue Hour
Grand Canal Venice, Italy
St Marks Square at Sunrise
Venice, Italy

Have a Great Weekend Everyone!
Mark

#travelphotography, #photographyitaly, #florenceitalyphotography, #venicephotography, #photographyinspiration, #b&wtravelphotography, #traveldiscussion,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.